Friday, July 1, 2011

Double Feature

I saw two movies at the Drive-In tonight so I'll review them and put my thoughts down here about them.  I went expecting to see Green Lantern and X-Men: First Class, but instead got Transformers and Super 8.  Needless to say I was extremely disappointed.

Transformers
Well, I really was not planning to see Transformers 3 at all.  I thought I knew what I was getting and I didn't like it.  Stupid mindless action without a plot.  Well, I was spot-on, but it was worse than I feared.  If you want to watch two hours and thirty minutes of robots fighting each other with the fate of Earth at stake (of course), then this might be the movie for you.

First, the obvious problems with the movie.  For one, there was no character development.  They relied completely off the first two movies which may have worked out ok if there wasn't a different girl in the third movie.  I'm sure I'm not the only one who didn't buy the romance between Shia LaBeouf and Rosie Huntington-Whitely.  We see the first time they meet, but that only confused me more of why they were together.  He comes and talks to her like a cocky asshole and then stumbles and fumbles with whatever was in his hand.

The second problem was that it was predictable.  I'm avoiding spoilers, but through the whole moon conspiracy and the impending threat of the end of the world, there's never any doubt as to what will happen.  And for the love of God, will they please get some balls and kill some important characters?  They keep bringing back the same 10 people who somehow avoid all the bullets and machines and stay alive everytime.  Everyone who dies is some random military person or robot who the audience could not care less about.

And I won't reveal who but the human villian in this movie's motives are faulty at best.  He's basically there to provide another "storyline," but the reason for his actions make no sense at all.  Why is he doing what he's doing?

To finish, the last 30 minutes I really wanted to get out of there.  I was bored to tears because the fight scenes kept going on and on and I really knew what was going to happen.  There were literally no surprises at all.  Congratulations, Michael Bay.  You made an action-packed movie boring.  Though, I'm in the minority among my friends as most of them have liked it.  Then again, I'm not sure many would disagree with what I'm saying (except for the boring part), they were just willing to look past it.

Super 8
I really enjoyed this movie a lot more than  Transformers 3 though I suppose that isn't saying much.  I went into it with some good expectations actually and came out with those expectations mostly fulfilled.  This had a plot as well which I was not actually expecting since the trailers revealed nothing at all.

Basically, this movie is about a small town where weird stuff starts happening.  For one, a massive train crash that happened because a truck rain straight into it.  Then people and dogs start disappearing.  The set-up and suspense of this movie was perfect.  I was completely lost and pulled in as to the mystery.

Most of the movie is seen from the eyes of Joe Lamb and his friends.  One of his friends, Charles, is an aspiring moviemaker who drags in his friends to make a movie for a film festival.  They witnessed the train crash and even filmed some of it.  There is enough character development for you to care about what happens to the characters and even an interesting backstory.

The payoff of the movie was disappointing though.  I was expecting good things, the first 90 minutes increased my expectations, and the ending was a big letdown.  As my dad said, this is so corny.  I still think Super 8 is a worthy watch, but the ending really left me sour.

No comments:

Post a Comment