I'm laying in my bed sometime during the middle of the night and I can't sleep. My body is refusing to cooperate with my brain right now. When I can't sleep, my brain wanders off into as many possible topics as you can think of. Well, this particular time, I was thinking about how right now I am irrationally and oddly motivated to watch the best shows on television. I'm not even talking in the recreational sense. I NEED to watch these shows. It's gone past a hobby at this point. It's almost like it's my job this summer to go through all the television shows.
I don't mean job in the bad sense. Sometimes when I write about sports, it feels like I am obligated to write anything down rather than me posting for the fun of it. It didn't happen in the beginning, but happens a lot more now because I am a writer on a blog with several people. When you have to contribute to a blog with someone other than yourself, you naturally feel guilty if you go through periods where you don't post often and the other person is shouldering the load.
Anyway, this got me thinking: Do I really want to go into Journalism? I guess this is a good time to say that I was Sports Editor on my high school newspaper. I pretty much have always held Journalism higher than other subjects. I have never really been sure that's what I want to actually do for a living considering I'm not outgoing and probably won't enjoy going out of town all the time. But throughout my high school career, nothing has come close to matching my interest quite like sports writing, specifically blogging. I guess it would be accurate to say that I was almost waiting for some other major to come and sweep me off my feet. It never happened. So alas, I go into college with the intent of majoring in journalism.
Anyway, back to the the middle of the night and TV shows. I started going through my list of TV shows and wondering how I was able to watch so many episodes in weeks' times. First, I watched Lost in a matter of probably a month or more. I thought about how I constantly watched new episodes no matter the time. I needed to get to the newest episode. I started this in Spring Break which basically meant this wasn't an issue. When school started, it became an issue. So I chalked up this need to the show being... well Lost. They found a way to draw you back in every episode. That's kind of what they're known for.
Then I watched five seasons of Dexter in a relatively short amount of time, usually stopping at around 3 A.M each night. Ok, well the more I thought about how I constantly had to go back and watch new episodes, the more I realized what was happening. Dexter is a good show, but I wouldn't necessarily call it a show that you watch that is killing you to have to wait a week to watch another episode. Yet, here I was doing that very thing despite not having a huge twist or hook except for maybe the last four episodes of Season 2 and the end of Season 4. Other than that, it does not even compare to Lost. So I realized that I had this weird motivating factor that I wanted to watch a list of TV shows in my head before summer was over. This factor kept me watching new episodes despite not having a huge hook at the end.
Well it really hit me with Breaking Bad. Again, I'm not bashing the show, but it is not a show that has a huge hook usually to draw you back in. Ironically, their hook, if anything, comes in the first few minutes when they reveal something that hasn't happened yet, but makes us scratch our heads. Why is this relevant to how this blog started, you ask? Well when this particular thing hit me, I had this insatiable desire to share this with other people.
I had this feeling that I could not drive away. I did not want to share my feelings about what was happening. No, I absolutely HAD to. Seriously. It sounds weird, but I could not ignore it. It was like I was addicted to heroin and I could not resist needling myself. Writing, it hit me, is officially my drug. I have blogged about sports for two full years now with May of 2009 being my beginning. I am actually, looking back, surprised it took me this long to start a blog about my thoughts.
Back to the Journalism comment, this kind of made me realize that I legitimately want to enter Journalism. I'm not doing it because it's the only thing that appeals to me. I'm doing it because I love to write and I love sports and if I can only combine those two things for a career, then I'm living a hell of a life for myself. That was a thing I remember hearing at a Webster conference about sports journalism. Don't enter sports journalism because you love sports. You have to love to write as well. Well I wasn't sure then, but I am definitely sure that I love to write now.
So this long story brings about the beginning of this blog. I called it My Drug, because writing is essentially my drug. I love writing about sports, but it's almost as if I need more. It's not like I'm getting paid, but I am writing for a legit website, not blogger.com (Sorry Blogger.com, I do love your site). However, with this blog, I am writing it as a recreation. My random thoughts on random things if you will. Much like how I HAD to write what I thought regarding my addiction to TV shows, most of these posts will be of the HAD to write variety. To give you an example, an idea pops into my head. That idea is expanded and eventually I figure it would make a good blog post. At that point, it's game over. I will write that blog post basically against my will. I will have this idea crunched into my mind and it will not leave until I post it. Such is the brain of myself. For the record, this is not going to be a blog about my day and how it went and interesting things that happened during it. If you're being honest, you probably don't give a shit about how my day went... unless your my parents and that doesn't count. No, if you want to see how my day went, follow my Twitter account.
Now, that I have filled my writing need for the night, it's time to go back to bed. Oh yeah, and I guess I'll do what I plan to do in the future. Make a playlist of the songs I am currently listening to:
Playlist:
Childish Gambino: Freaks and Geeks (Shout-out to Drew Higgins. One of the most well done "I have the biggest..." songs. If you don't like those type of songs or couldn't figure out what went after biggest, don't listen to the song)
J Cole: Lights Please
Busta Rhymes: Look at Me Now (This is the famous, technically not great song that I can't stop listening to - If Busta wasn't singing, I probably don't like this song - Plus, a deep shame at putting Chris Brown on my first playlist made me cheat - Sadly,I already know next post's popular, technically not good song)
Radiohead: Just
Eminem: The Way I Am (An Eminem song will likely be a regular feature)
Well, I'm impressed I made a halfway decent playlist. Two oldies, one popular song, and two lesser-known songs. That will probably be the way my playlists will be constructed, most likely rap. I'm not a fan of country and I have no idea where all the good rock artists are like in the late 1990s (perhaps this is just nostalgia for me) so my playlists will be rap-centered with a high effort to get other genres involved.
No comments:
Post a Comment